Associated British Foods plc
Latest report: FY2025, the fiscal year ended 13 September 2025. Snapshot FY2025_e75d197c.
Overview
Select a figure to see the document it came from.
Key Findings
Findings for the latest fiscal year, with their history over earlier years.
Revenue for the fiscal year ended 13 September 2025 was £19.5 billion, 3.1% lower than in the previous fiscal year.
Newin FY2025 · first statedRule: Revenue against the previous fiscal year · Sources Annual financial report 2025-09History of this finding, 4 records
- FY2025 NewRevenue for the fiscal year ended 13 September 2025 was £19.5 billion, 3.1% lower than in the previous fiscal year.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2025 RetiredThe finding changed to lower than a year earlier.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2024 WeakenedRevenue for the fiscal year ended 14 September 2024 was £20.1 billion, 1.6% higher than in the previous fiscal year.Reconstructed · data update
- FY2023 NewRevenue for the fiscal year ended 16 September 2023 was £19.8 billion, 16.2% higher than in the previous fiscal year.Reconstructed · initial
Net income attributable to the company for fiscal 2025 was £1.0 billion, 29.6% lower than in the previous fiscal year.
Newin FY2025 · first statedRule: Net income against the previous fiscal year · Sources Annual financial report 2025-09History of this finding, 4 records
- FY2025 NewNet income attributable to the company for fiscal 2025 was £1.0 billion, 29.6% lower than in the previous fiscal year.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2025 RetiredThe finding changed to lower than a year earlier.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2024 WeakenedNet income attributable to the company for fiscal 2024 was £1.5 billion, 39.4% higher than in the previous fiscal year.Reconstructed · data update
- FY2023 NewNet income attributable to the company for fiscal 2023 was £1.0 billion, 49.1% higher than in the previous fiscal year.Reconstructed · initial
The operating margin for fiscal 2025 was 7.6%, 2.0 percentage points lower than a year earlier.
Newin FY2025 · first statedRule: Operating margin against a year earlier · Sources Annual financial report 2025-09History of this finding, 4 records
- FY2025 NewThe operating margin for fiscal 2025 was 7.6%, 2.0 percentage points lower than a year earlier.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2025 RetiredThe finding changed to lower than a year earlier.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2024 StrengthenedThe operating margin for fiscal 2024 was 9.6%, 2.6 percentage points higher than a year earlier.Reconstructed · data update
- FY2023 NewThe operating margin for fiscal 2023 was 7.0%, 0.1 percentage points higher than a year earlier.Reconstructed · initial
Return on equity for fiscal 2025 was 9.2%, against 13.1% a year earlier.
Newin FY2025 · first statedRule: Return on equity against a year earlier · Sources Annual financial report 2025-09, Annual financial report 2024-09History of this finding, 4 records
- FY2025 NewReturn on equity for fiscal 2025 was 9.2%, against 13.1% a year earlier.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2025 RetiredThe finding changed to lower than a year earlier.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2024 StrengthenedReturn on equity for fiscal 2024 was 13.1%, against 9.3% a year earlier.Reconstructed · data update
- FY2023 NewReturn on equity for fiscal 2023 was 9.3%, against 6.6% a year earlier.Reconstructed · initial
Free cash flow for fiscal 2025 was £1.1 billion, and operating cash flow was 2.2 times net income attributable to the company.
Interpretation. Operating cash flow paid for all capital expenditure, and the rest is free for dividends, share buybacks or debt repayment.
Weakenedin FY2025 · stated since FY2023Rule: Free cash flow · Sources Annual financial report 2025-09History of this finding, 3 records
- FY2025 WeakenedFree cash flow for fiscal 2025 was £1.1 billion, and operating cash flow was 2.2 times net income attributable to the company.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2024 StrengthenedFree cash flow for fiscal 2024 was £1.8 billion, and operating cash flow was 2.0 times net income attributable to the company.Reconstructed · data update
- FY2023 NewFree cash flow for fiscal 2023 was £657 million, and operating cash flow was 1.6 times net income attributable to the company.Reconstructed · initial
Net debt was £2.6 billion at 13 September 2025, 1.1 times EBITDA for fiscal 2025.
Strengthenedin FY2025 · stated since FY2023Rule: Net debt or net cash · Sources Annual financial report 2025-09History of this finding, 3 records
- FY2025 StrengthenedNet debt was £2.6 billion at 13 September 2025, 1.1 times EBITDA for fiscal 2025.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2024 ConfirmedNet debt was £2.4 billion at 14 September 2024, 0.8 times EBITDA for fiscal 2024.Reconstructed · data update
- FY2023 NewNet debt was £2.3 billion at 16 September 2023, 1.0 times EBITDA for fiscal 2023.Reconstructed · initial
Records before FY2025 are reconstructed from the latest snapshot. Ledger: findings.json.
Credit, liquidity, earnings quality and score findings: Analysis.
Data
FY2025_e75d197cCorporate Events
Corporate events are listed for companies whose figures come from 10-K and 10-Q filings; none are listed for this company.
Earnings, Returns and Balance Sheet
Revenue
By fiscal year, pounds sterling
Operating Profit
By fiscal year, pounds sterling
Profit Attributable to Owners of the Parent
By fiscal year, pounds sterling
Margins
By fiscal year, per cent
Returns
By fiscal year, per cent
Free Cash Flow
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, by fiscal year, pounds sterling
Net Debt
Total debt less cash and short-term investments, at fiscal year end, pounds sterling
Diluted Earnings per Share
By fiscal year, as reported
Financial Statements
Figures as filed. Select a figure for its source document and method; a small d marks a figure derived from other figures of the same report.
The statements are loading. They are also available as JSON and CSV.
Ratios
Select a ratio for its formula and the figures it uses, each with its document; (i) gives its definition.
The ratios are loading.
Analysis
Credit update
FY2025
Annual financial report for the year to 13 September 2025. Changes are against the previous report, and each figure shows its period.
Changes in This Report 0
No finding changed its state in the latest report.
Thresholds Crossed 0
No published finding crosses a threshold.
Fiscal years, with balances at each fiscal year end. Select a value for its formula and the figures it uses.
Credit MetricsDebt to EBITDA 1.48x, FFO to debt 55.6% · FY2025
Lease-adjusted debt, EBITDA and cash flow on the definitions of S&P and Moody's, as far as the filings allow.
Lease-adjusted debt was 1.5 times adjusted EBITDA for fiscal 2025, and funds from operations equalled 55.6% of that debt. Debt to EBITDA is within the minimal band of the S&P standard volatility table and FFO to debt within the modest band.
Interpretation. Debt to EBITDA shows how many years of EBITDA the debt equals, and FFO to debt the share of the debt that 1 year of cash flow after interest and taxes would repay. The S&P table sorts both into 6 bands; the minimal band is number 1 of 6, and a higher number means more debt against earnings.
Confirmedin FY2025 · stated since FY2024Rule: Debt against the S&P benchmark bands · Sources Annual financial report 2025-09History of this finding, 4 records
- FY2025 ConfirmedLease-adjusted debt was 1.5 times adjusted EBITDA for fiscal 2025, and funds from operations equalled 55.6% of that debt. Debt to EBITDA is within the minimal band of the S&P standard volatility table and FFO to debt within the modest band.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2024 NewLease-adjusted debt was 1.3 times adjusted EBITDA for fiscal 2024, and funds from operations equalled 66.1% of that debt. Both ratios are within the minimal band of the S&P standard volatility table.Reconstructed · data update
- FY2024 RetiredThe finding changed to the minimal band.Reconstructed · data update
- FY2023 NewLease-adjusted debt was 1.6 times adjusted EBITDA for fiscal 2023, and funds from operations equalled 49.1% of that debt. Both ratios are within the modest band of the S&P standard volatility table.Reconstructed · initial
Position in the S&P Standard Volatility Table, Fiscal 2025
S&P sorts companies into 6 bands by debt against earnings and cash flow, from the least debt to the most.
Debt equals 1.5 years of adjusted EBITDA; a year of funds from operations equals 55.6% of it.
| Band | Minimal | Modest | Intermediate | Significant | Aggressive | Highly leveraged |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debt to EBITDA | 1.48xbelow 1.5x | 1.5x to 2x | 2x to 3x | 3x to 4x | 4x to 5x | 5x and above |
| FFO to debt | 60% and above | 55.6%45% to 60% | 30% to 45% | 20% to 30% | 12% to 20% | below 12% |
By Fiscal Year
| Ratio | FY202118 Sep 2021 | FY202217 Sep 2022 | FY202316 Sep 2023 | FY202414 Sep 2024 | FY202513 Sep 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lease-adjusted debtBorrowings plus the obligations of long-term leases, such as rents of stores, offices and warehouses, which credit analysts count as debt.Total debt: borrowings + lease liabilities, or the lines that present them together; IFRS 16 puts every lease on the balance sheet | |||||
| Adjusted EBITDAOperating profit before depreciation, amortisation, the impairment reported with them and pay in shares: the earnings that credit analysts set against debt.EBIT + depreciation and amortisation, with the impairment that the company reports together with them, + share-based payments; depreciation includes that of right-of-use assets, so no lease cost is added | |||||
| Funds from operationsAdjusted EBITDA less interest and tax paid in cash: the cash the business produces each year for investment, dividends and debt repayment.Adjusted EBITDA - cash interest - cash taxes; cash interest includes the interest on lease liabilities | |||||
| Debt to EBITDALease-adjusted debt measured in years of adjusted EBITDA. A figure of 3 means debt equals 3 years of those earnings; a lower figure means less debt against earnings.Lease-adjusted debt / adjusted EBITDA | intermediate | modest | modest | minimal | minimal |
| FFO to debtFunds from operations as a share of lease-adjusted debt. A figure of 25% means a year of those funds equals a quarter of the debt; a higher figure means less debt.Funds from operations / lease-adjusted debt | intermediate | intermediate | modest | minimal | modest |
| Net debt to adjusted EBITDADebt to EBITDA after cash and short-term investments are set against the debt.(Lease-adjusted debt - cash - short-term investments) / adjusted EBITDA | |||||
| Operating cash flow to debtOperating cash flow after interest paid, as a share of debt with lease liabilities. A higher share means the debt could be repaid sooner from operating cash.Operating cash flow after interest paid / lease-adjusted debt; interest paid that the company classifies as financing activities is deducted | |||||
| Free operating cash flow to debtOperating cash flow less capital spending, as a share of lease-adjusted debt: the cash left for the debt after the company maintains and expands its assets.(Operating cash flow after interest paid - capital expenditure) / lease-adjusted debt | |||||
| Discretionary cash flow to debtCash left after capital spending, dividends and share repurchases, as a share of lease-adjusted debt. A negative figure means the company paid out more than it generated.(Operating cash flow after interest paid - capital expenditure - dividends - purchases of own shares) / lease-adjusted debt | |||||
| Retained cash flow to net debtFunds from operations left after dividends, as a share of debt net of cash.(FFO - dividends) / (lease-adjusted debt - cash - short-term investments) | |||||
| FFO cash interest coverThe number of times cash earnings cover cash interest, lease interest included.(FFO + cash interest) / cash interest; cash interest includes the interest on lease liabilities | |||||
| EBITDA interest coverThe number of times adjusted EBITDA covers interest, lease interest included.Adjusted EBITDA / finance costs, which include the interest on lease liabilities | |||||
| EBITA interest coverOperating profit before the amortisation of acquired intangible assets and goodwill impairment, divided by interest expense.(EBIT + amortisation of intangible assets + goodwill impairment) / finance costs; empty where amortisation is not reported | |||||
| Liquid assets to debtCash and short-term investments as a share of lease-adjusted debt: the part of the debt that cash on hand could repay at once.(Cash + short-term investments) / lease-adjusted debt |
Reconciliation of the Credit Figures
| Item | FY202118 Sep 2021 | FY202217 Sep 2022 | FY202316 Sep 2023 | FY202414 Sep 2024 | FY202513 Sep 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Borrowings | £406m | £637m | £562m | £613m | £667m |
| Lease liabilities | £3.3bn | £3.3bn | £3.2bn | £3.1bn | £3.0bn |
| Borrowings and lease liabilities presented as one line | £0 | £0 | £0 | £0 | £0 |
| Lease-adjusted debt | £3.7bn | £3.9bn | £3.7bn | £3.7bn | £3.7bn |
| EBIT | £808m | £1.2bn | £1.4bn | £1.9bn | £1.5bn |
| Depreciation and amortisation, with the impairment reported with them | £897m | £870m | £886m | £949m | £988m |
| Share-based payments | £17.0m | £19.0m | £18.0m | £31.0m | £18.0m |
| Adjusted EBITDA | £1.7bn | £2.1bn | £2.3bn | £2.9bn | £2.5bn |
| Cash interest | −£116m | −£114m | −£118m | −£140m | −£143m |
| Cash taxes | −£298m | −£304m | −£341m | −£340m | −£298m |
| Funds from operations | £1.3bn | £1.6bn | £1.8bn | £2.4bn | £2.0bn |
Method
- Total debt is borrowings and lease liabilities, current and non-current, before the deduction of cash. Under IFRS 16 every lease is on the balance sheet, depreciation includes that of right-of-use assets and finance costs include the interest on lease liabilities, so no lease cost or lease interest is added.
- Adjusted EBITDA adds share-based payments, and the impairment that the company reports with depreciation and amortisation, to EBIT and depreciation and amortisation. FFO deducts cash interest and cash taxes.
- S&P applies its table to its own adjusted figures, which also deduct surplus cash and adjust for pensions and other items, so the band of an S&P calculation can differ.
Liquidity and MaturitiesLiquidity cover 1.43x, Debt due within 12 months £551m · FY2025
Cash and operating cash flow against debt due within 12 months, capital expenditure and dividends.
Cash, short-term investments and operating cash flow for fiscal 2025 equalled 1.4 times the sum of debt due within 12 months, capital expenditure and dividends.
Interpretation. Cash on hand and 1 year of operating cash flow pay for the debt due in the next 12 months, capital expenditure and dividends, without new borrowing. Undrawn credit lines are not counted.
Weakenedin FY2025 · stated since FY2023Rule: Liquidity cover · Sources Annual financial report 2025-09History of this finding, 3 records
- FY2025 WeakenedCash, short-term investments and operating cash flow for fiscal 2025 equalled 1.4 times the sum of debt due within 12 months, capital expenditure and dividends.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2024 StrengthenedCash, short-term investments and operating cash flow for fiscal 2024 equalled 2.0 times the sum of debt due within 12 months, capital expenditure and dividends.Reconstructed · data update
- FY2023 NewCash, short-term investments and operating cash flow for fiscal 2023 equalled 1.7 times the sum of debt due within 12 months, capital expenditure and dividends.Reconstructed · initial
Sources and Uses, Fiscal 2025
| Sources | Amount |
|---|---|
| Cash and short-term investments | £1.1bn |
| Operating cash flow | £2.2bn |
| Sources | £3.3bn |
| Uses | Amount |
|---|---|
| Debt due within 12 months | £551m |
| Capital expenditure | £1.1bn |
| Dividends paid | £656m |
| Uses | £2.3bn |
Liquidity cover 1.43x
By Fiscal Year
| Ratio | FY202118 Sep 2021 | FY202217 Sep 2022 | FY202316 Sep 2023 | FY202414 Sep 2024 | FY202513 Sep 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liquidity coverCash on hand plus a year of operating cash flow, against the cash needed in the next 12 months for maturing debt, capital spending and dividends. Above 1, these sources cover the uses without new borrowing.(Cash + short-term investments + operating cash flow) / (debt due within 12 months + capital expenditure + dividends); the flows of the fiscal year or of the last 4 quarters are taken as those of the next 12 months, and undrawn facilities are not included | |||||
| Debt due within 12 monthsBorrowings and lease liabilities due within the next 12 months, which the company must repay or refinance.Current borrowings + current lease liabilities, or the current line that presents them together |
Method
- Debt due within 12 months is current borrowings and current lease liabilities.
- Capital expenditure and dividends of the fiscal year are taken as those of the next 12 months. Undrawn credit facilities are not included.
Earnings QualityCash-flow accruals −6.3%, Operating cash flow to EBITDA 0.90x · FY2025
Accruals and the cash backing of reported earnings.
Operating cash flow for fiscal 2025 exceeded net income attributable to the company by an amount equal to 6.3% of average total assets.
Interpretation. The profit came in as cash: operating cash flow was larger than net income. Profit backed by cash tends to repeat more than profit made of accounting entries (Sloan, 1996).
Weakenedin FY2025 · stated since FY2023Rule: Cash backing of earnings · Sources Annual financial report 2025-09History of this finding, 3 records
- FY2025 WeakenedOperating cash flow for fiscal 2025 exceeded net income attributable to the company by an amount equal to 6.3% of average total assets.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2024 StrengthenedOperating cash flow for fiscal 2024 exceeded net income attributable to the company by an amount equal to 7.5% of average total assets.Reconstructed · data update
- FY2023 NewOperating cash flow for fiscal 2023 exceeded net income attributable to the company by an amount equal to 3.2% of average total assets.Reconstructed · initial
By Fiscal Year
| Ratio | FY202118 Sep 2021 | FY202217 Sep 2022 | FY202316 Sep 2023 | FY202414 Sep 2024 | FY202513 Sep 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cash-flow accrualsNet income less operating cash flow, against average assets: the part of profit not received in cash in the same period. Research associates high accruals with lower earnings in later years; a negative figure means cash exceeded profit.(Net income attributable to the company - operating cash flow) / average total assets | n/a | ||||
| Balance sheet accrualsThe same gap between profit and cash, measured from the changes in the balance sheet (Sloan, 1996).[(Change in current assets - change in cash) - (change in current liabilities - change in short-term debt - change in taxes payable) - depreciation and amortisation] / average total assets (Sloan, 1996) | n/a | ||||
| Total accrualsAccruals that also cover long-term operating and financial assets and liabilities (Richardson, Sloan, Soliman and Tuna, 2005). Acquisitions raise the figure.Change in net operating working capital, net non-current operating assets and net financial assets / average total assets (Richardson, Sloan, Soliman and Tuna, 2005) | n/a | ||||
| Operating cash flow to EBITDAOperating cash flow against EBITDA: the part of operating profit before depreciation that turns into cash after interest, tax and changes in stock, receivables and payables.Operating cash flow / (operating income + depreciation and amortisation) | |||||
| Free cash flow to net incomeFree cash flow against net income. Below 1, investment and working capital take up part of the profit.(Operating cash flow - capital expenditure) / net income attributable to the company |
Method
- Cash-flow accruals are net income attributable to the company less operating cash flow, over average total assets. Balance sheet accruals follow Sloan (1996) and total accruals Richardson, Sloan, Soliman and Tuna (2005).
- Balance sheet and total accruals include the assets and liabilities that acquisitions bring in and disposals take out; cash-flow accruals exclude them.
Forensic and Distress ScoresAltman Z'' 4.63, Beneish −2.78 · Piotroski 5 of 9 · FY2025
Published distress and misstatement models, with their original coefficients and thresholds.
The Altman Z'' score for fiscal 2025 was 4.63, above the safe threshold of 2.60.
Interpretation. By this model, the balance sheet and earnings look like those of companies that did not go bankrupt in its original study: above 2.60 means safe, below 1.10 distress.
Weakenedin FY2025 · stated since FY2023Rule: Altman Z'' zone · Sources Annual financial report 2025-09History of this finding, 3 records
- FY2025 WeakenedThe Altman Z'' score for fiscal 2025 was 4.63, above the safe threshold of 2.60.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2024 ConfirmedThe Altman Z'' score for fiscal 2024 was 5.15, above the safe threshold of 2.60.Reconstructed · data update
- FY2023 NewThe Altman Z'' score for fiscal 2023 was 4.98, above the safe threshold of 2.60.Reconstructed · initial
The Beneish M-score for fiscal 2025 was minus 2.78, below the model threshold of minus 1.78.
Interpretation. The model finds no sign of earnings manipulation. Beneish (1999) set a threshold of minus 1.78, above which a company resembles the companies that manipulated their earnings.
Confirmedin FY2025 · stated since FY2023Rule: Beneish M-score against its threshold · Sources Annual financial report 2025-09History of this finding, 3 records
- FY2025 ConfirmedThe Beneish M-score for fiscal 2025 was minus 2.78, below the model threshold of minus 1.78.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2024 StrengthenedThe Beneish M-score for fiscal 2024 was minus 2.87, below the model threshold of minus 1.78.Reconstructed · data update
- FY2023 NewThe Beneish M-score for fiscal 2023 was minus 2.57, below the model threshold of minus 1.78.Reconstructed · initial
The Piotroski F-score for fiscal 2025 was 5 of 9. The 4 signals not met were return on assets higher than a year earlier, current ratio higher than a year earlier, margin higher than a year earlier and asset turnover higher than a year earlier.
Interpretation. The score counts how many of 9 tests of profit, debt, liquidity and efficiency the company passes. A score of 4 to 6 is the middle group: Piotroski (2000) placed 7 to 9 in the strongest group and 0 to 3 in the weakest.
Newin FY2025 · first statedRule: Piotroski F-score · Sources Annual financial report 2024-09, Annual financial report 2025-09History of this finding, 4 records
- FY2025 NewThe Piotroski F-score for fiscal 2025 was 5 of 9. The 4 signals not met were return on assets higher than a year earlier, current ratio higher than a year earlier, margin higher than a year earlier and asset turnover higher than a year earlier.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2025 RetiredThe finding changed to a middle score.Recorded from FY2025_e75d197c · data update
- FY2024 ConfirmedThe Piotroski F-score for fiscal 2024 was 7 of 9. The 2 signals not met were long-term debt to assets lower than a year earlier and current ratio higher than a year earlier.Reconstructed · data update
- FY2023 NewThe Piotroski F-score for fiscal 2023 was 7 of 9. The 2 signals not met were current ratio higher than a year earlier and asset turnover higher than a year earlier.Reconstructed · initial
By Fiscal Year
| Ratio | FY202118 Sep 2021 | FY202217 Sep 2022 | FY202316 Sep 2023 | FY202414 Sep 2024 | FY202513 Sep 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Altman Z'' scoreA measure of the risk of financial distress, built from working capital, retained earnings, operating profit and equity. Above 2.60 the model counts a company as safe and below 1.10 as in distress; between the 2 is a grey zone.6.56 x working capital / total assets + 3.26 x retained earnings / total assets + 6.72 x EBIT / total assets + 1.05 x total equity / total liabilities (Altman, 1995); distress zone below 1.10, safe zone above 2.60 | safe zone | safe zone | safe zone | safe zone | safe zone |
| Beneish M-scoreA screen for earnings manipulation, built from 8 changes in the accounts, such as receivables growing faster than sales. Above minus 1.78 the model groups a company with the companies in the Beneish sample that manipulated their earnings.-4.84 + 0.920 DSRI + 0.528 GMI + 0.404 AQI + 0.892 SGI + 0.115 DEPI - 0.172 SGAI + 4.679 TATA - 0.327 LVGI (Beneish, 1999); model threshold -1.78 | n/a | below threshold | below threshold | below threshold | below threshold |
| Dechow F-scoreThe probability of a material misstatement in the accounts, estimated from accruals, receivables, stock, cash sales, profitability and new financing, against the average. A score of 1 means average risk and 2 means twice the average.Predicted probability of a misstatement (model 1 of Dechow, Ge, Larson and Sloan, 2011) / 0.0037, the unconditional probability; 1 equals the base rate | n/a | n/a | |||
| Piotroski F-scoreA count of 9 yes or no tests on profitability, cash flow, debt, liquidity, new shares, margins and the use of assets. A score of 7 to 9 indicates improving strength and 0 to 3 indicates weakness.Number of 9 binary signals met on profitability, cash flow, debt, liquidity, equity issuance, margin and asset turnover (Piotroski, 2000) | n/a | n/a |
Altman Z'' Score
Altman Z'' Score
fiscal 2025
A measure of the risk of financial distress, built from working capital, retained earnings, operating profit and equity. Above 2.60 the model counts a company as safe and below 1.10 as in distress; between the 2 is a grey zone.
| Distress zone, below 1.10 | Grey zone, 1.10 to 2.60 | 4.63Safe zone, above 2.60 |
The score of 4.63 is in the safe zone of the model, above 2.60. The largest part is retained earnings, at 1.92.
| Part | Value | Coefficient | Contribution |
|---|---|---|---|
| Working capital / total assetsCurrent assets less current liabilities, against total assets: the short-term funds available for operations. | 0.112 | 6.560 | 0.737 |
| Retained earnings / total assetsProfits kept in the business over its life, against total assets. | 0.590 | 3.260 | 1.923 |
| EBIT / total assetsOperating profit against total assets: the earning power of the assets. | 0.077 | 6.720 | 0.517 |
| Total equity / total liabilitiesBook equity against liabilities: how far the assets could fall in value before liabilities exceed them. | 1.380 | 1.050 | 1.449 |
| Score | 4.625 |
Altman, Hartzell and Peck (1995), for non-manufacturing companies. The model omits the ratio of sales to total assets of the 1968 model and uses book equity. Working capital below zero and equity reduced by share repurchases lower the score.
Beneish M-score
Beneish M-score
fiscal 2025
A screen for earnings manipulation, built from 8 changes in the accounts, such as receivables growing faster than sales. Above minus 1.78 the model groups a company with the companies in the Beneish sample that manipulated their earnings.
| −2.78Below the threshold, −1.78 and below | Above the threshold, above −1.78 |
The score of minus 2.78 is below the model threshold of minus 1.78.
| Part | Value | Coefficient | Contribution |
|---|---|---|---|
| Intercept | −4.840 | ||
| Days sales in receivables indexReceivables against sales, against a year earlier. A rise can mean sales recorded before customers pay. | 1.029 | 0.920 | 0.946 |
| Gross margin indexGross margin a year earlier against the current gross margin. Above 1, margins fell, which the model treats as a risk factor. | 1.000 | 0.528 | 0.528 |
| Asset quality indexAssets other than current assets and property, plant and equipment, as a share of total assets, against a year earlier. A rise can mean more costs recorded as assets. | 1.002 | 0.404 | 0.405 |
| Sales growth indexSales against a year earlier. The model treats fast growth as a risk factor. | 0.969 | 0.892 | 0.865 |
| Depreciation indexThe rate of depreciation a year earlier against the current rate. Above 1, depreciation slowed, which raises profit. | 1.024 | 0.115 | 0.118 |
| Selling, general and administrative expenses indexOverheads against sales, against a year earlier. | 1.000 | −0.172 | −0.172 |
| Total accruals to total assetsNet income less operating cash flow, against total assets: profit not backed by cash. It carries the largest coefficient in the model. | −0.063 | 4.679 | −0.293 |
| Leverage indexDebt against total assets, against a year earlier. | 1.021 | −0.327 | −0.334 |
| Score | −2.777 |
Beneish (1999), estimated on 74 companies identified as earnings manipulators in SEC enforcement releases and the press for 1982 to 1992, against 2,332 Compustat companies. The model classes a score above minus 1.78 with the first group. An index whose inputs are not reported counts as 1.
Dechow F-score
Dechow F-score
fiscal 2025
The probability of a material misstatement in the accounts, estimated from accruals, receivables, stock, cash sales, profitability and new financing, against the average. A score of 1 means average risk and 2 means twice the average.
A score of 0.35 means a probability of a misstatement 0.35 times the average rate in the Dechow sample: 0.13% against 0.37%.
| Part | Value | Coefficient | Contribution |
|---|---|---|---|
| Intercept | −7.893 | ||
| Total accruals (Richardson, Sloan, Soliman and Tuna)Total accruals: the growth of operating and financial assets net of liabilities, against average assets. | 0.009 | 0.790 | 0.007 |
| Change in receivables / average total assetsThe growth of receivables against average assets. | −0.000 | 2.518 | −0.001 |
| Change in inventories / average total assetsThe growth of stock against average assets. | 0.012 | 1.191 | 0.014 |
| Assets other than cash and property, plant and equipment / total assetsAssets other than cash and property, plant and equipment, as a share of total assets: assets whose value depends more on judgement. | 0.604 | 1.979 | 1.195 |
| Change in cash salesThe growth of sales collected in cash. | −0.034 | 0.171 | −0.006 |
| Change in return on assetsThe change in return on assets against a year earlier. A fall raises the score. | −0.023 | −0.932 | 0.022 |
| Debt or equity issued in the year, 1 or 01 when the company issued shares or debt in the year. | 0.000 | 1.029 | 0.000 |
| Predicted value | −6.662 | ||
| Probability of a misstatement | 0.13% |
Model 1 of Dechow, Ge, Larson and Sloan (2011), estimated on misstatements named in SEC Accounting and Auditing Enforcement Releases. The score is the predicted probability of a misstatement over 0.37%, the unconditional probability in their sample, so 1.00 equals that base rate.
Piotroski F-score
Piotroski F-score
fiscal 2025
A count of 9 yes or no tests on profitability, cash flow, debt, liquidity, new shares, margins and the use of assets. A score of 7 to 9 indicates improving strength and 0 to 3 indicates weakness.
5 of the 9 tests are met, in the middle group of 4 to 6.
| Signal | FY2025 | FY2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Return on assets above zero | Met | Met |
| Operating cash flow above zero | Met | Met |
| Return on assets higher than a year earlier | Not met | Met |
| Operating cash flow above net income | Met | Met |
| Long-term debt to assets lower than a year earlier | Met | Not met |
| Current ratio higher than a year earlier | Not met | Not met |
| No common equity issued | Met | Met |
| Margin higher than a year earlier | Not met | Met |
| Asset turnover higher than a year earlier | Not met | Met |
Piotroski (2000), 9 signals on profitability, funding and operating efficiency, designed for companies with high book-to-market ratios. Piotroski grouped scores of 8 and 9 as high and 0 and 1 as low; the findings group 7 to 9 and 0 to 3.
Source Documents
Documents of this snapshot, latest first. A report that states no date of publication carries the date on which the public index of structured annual reports added it.
| Document | Date | Id |
|---|---|---|
| Annual financial report for the year to 13 September 2025 | 18 Nov 2025, added to the index | AFR:GBQKSY6W7G0OHCQ8OQ72-2025-09-13-0 |
| Annual financial report for the year to 14 September 2024 | 5 Nov 2024, added to the index | AFR:GBQKSY6W7G0OHCQ8OQ72-2024-09-14-0 |
| Annual financial report for the year to 16 September 2023 | 15 Nov 2023, added to the index | AFR:GBQKSY6W7G0OHCQ8OQ72-2023-09-16-0 |
| Annual financial report for the year to 17 September 2022 | 17 Nov 2022, added to the index | AFR:GBQKSY6W7G0OHCQ8OQ72-2022-09-17-0 |
Checks
Data Quality
How many values of this snapshot the checks prove, and how many Annalist derives, withholds and tracks as restated. Every company.
| Values published | 218 |
| Proven by a check | 6.9%, 15 values |
| Confirmed by a second document | 0.0%, 0 values |
| Derived from reported figures | 2.3%, 5 values |
| Values withheld | 0 |
| Restated figures tracked | 4 |
| Changes compared on one basis | 0 |
| Company lines mapped | 0 of 0 reviewed |
Citation
Snapshot FY2025_e75d197c · dataset SHA-256 e75d197c7a8adff3d133f686f4f507fd8c45c218484eb684e14622a5962e76b6 · findings rules 0.4
Data: info.json · dataset.json · validation.json · documents.json